Νational Technical University of Athens


Founded in 1837, almost along with the modern Greek state, NTUA is the oldest Technical University in Greece. Initially established by a royal decree “on architectural education” it was a technical school operating on Sundays and holidays which offered instruction to those desiring to master in architecture. Though, at a remote location it soon attracted many students. Its popularity lead to the extension of courses and by spring 1840 to the operation of a regular day school along with the Sundays counterpart.

The urgent needs for infrastructure to support the ambitious plans of the school led to the 1871 transfer to new buildings on the Patission Street Complex. Their construction was first supported by Nikolaos Stournaris. In Greek, NTUA is called “Ethnicon M etsovion Polytechnion”. It was named “Metsovion” to honor the donors and benefactors Nikolaos Stournaris, Eleni Tositsa, Michail Tositsas and Georgios Averof, all from Metsovo, a small town in the region of Epirus.

The recent struggles against the military dictatorship of 1967-74 escalated with the student gathering at the NTUA Patission Campus on the 14th of February, 1973, followed by an unprecedented brutal attack by the police inside the campus and the arrest of several students. This was followed by demonstrations, the occupation of the Law School of the University of Athens on 23rd February, and again on 20th March. Each of these demonstrations was met by force. The protest culminated in the greatest blow against the Junta, the Polytechnion (NTUA) Uprising in November, 1973.

Scientific profile

Disciplines & Departments

National Technical University of Athens comprises nine Schools :

  • School of Civil Engineering
  • School of Mechanical Engineering
  • School of Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • School of Architecture
  • School of Chemical Engineering
  • School of Rural and Surveying Engineering
  • School of Mining and Metallurgical Engineering
  • School of Naval Architctute and Marine Engineering
  • School of Applied Mathematical and Physical Sciences




Zografou Campus and Patission complex


 Professor Andreas G. Boudouvis

Vice Rectors

Vice Rector of Research and Lifelong Education
Professor Ioannis K. Chatjigeorgiou
 Vice Rector of Finance, Planning and Development
Professor Evangelos J. Sapountzakis
Vice Rector of Administrative, Academic and Student Affairs
Professor Drossos Gintides




Department: Civil Engineering 
Location: Zografou Campus 
Website: www.civil.ntua.gr 
Telephone: +30 210-7723451

Department: Mechanical Engineering 
Location: Zografou Campus 
Telephone: +30 210-7721347

Department: Electrical and Computer Engineering 
Location: Zografou Campus 
Telephone: +30 210 7723997 

Department: Architecture 
Location: Tositsa building, ground floor, Patission complex 
Telephone: +30 210 7723333 

Department: Chemical Engineering 
Location: Zografou Campus 
Telephone: +30 210 7721128 

Department: Rural and Surveying Engineering 
Location: Zografou Campus 
Telephone: +30 210 772 2761-2 

Department: Mining and Metallurgical Engineering 
Location: Zografou Campus 
Telephone: +30 210 772 2070-1 

Department: Naval Architctute and Marine Engineering 
Location: Zografou Campus 
Telephone: +30 210 7721938 

Department: Applied Mathematical and Physical Sciences 
Location: Zografou Campus 
Telephone: +30 210 7722023 

Postgraduate programs

The  Postgraduate programs that are taught in Greek!

School of Architecture

Architecture – Space Planning
Protection of Monuments

School of Chemical Engineering

Materials Science and Technology
Computational Mechanics

School of Rural & Surveying Engineering

Environment and Development

School of Mining & Metallurgical Engineering

Design and Construction of Underground Works

School of Naval Architecture & Marine Engineering

Marine and Ocean Technology
Offshore Structures, Systems and Processes for the Hydrocarbon Exploration and Exploitation

School of Applied Mathematical & Physical Sciences

Microsystems and Nanodevices
Mathematical Modelling in Modern Technologies and in Finance
Physics and Technological Applications
Applied Mathematical Sciences
Applied Mechanics

The  Postgraduate programs that are taught in foreign languages!

Masters (MSc)

M.Sc in Analysis and Design of Earthquake Resistant Structures

School of Civil Engineering  | Department of Civil Engineering

The Department of Structural Engineering of the NTUA School of Civil Engineering with the synergy of the Department of Geotechnical Engineering, provides the Postgraduate Course of Studies entitled: MSc in “Analysis and Design of Earthquake Resistant Structures” (ADERS) .

The Programme offers courses and research opportunities in the areas of earthquake engineering such as: structural dynamics, structural analysis and design, computational mechanics, geomechanics, reliability and risk analysis. ADERS is designed, with its variety of topics in earthquake engineering to prepare students for carriers as consulting engineers, in private or government organizations, researchers, or members of the academic community. Students will have the opportunity to balance practical engineering concepts with advanced computational methods in order to meet the challenges of earthquake engineering.