In Samos there are 3 departments of the University of the Aegean. More specifically:

Samos is a Greek island located in the eastern Aegean Sea, close to the coast of Asia Minor, from which it is separated by the small Mycale Strait. It is also a separate regional unit of the North Aegean region, and the only municipality of the regional unit.


Pythagoras was born in the island of Samos and he is considered the father of mathematics. Also, the astronomer Aristarchus and Philosopher Epicurus where born there. Samos is considered by Herodotus the birthplace of the goddess Hera. One of the most marvelous feats of ancient engineering  was the Tunnel of Eupalinos, which measures 1,036 meters in length and served as an aqueduct.


On the island of Samos there are three Departments of the University of the Aegean: Department of Mathematics, of Statistics and Actuarial-Financial Mathematics and department of Information and Communication Systems Engineering. Vathi, Karlovasi, Pythagoreion and Heraion are the most populated cities around Samos. Students can enjoy various a “laid-back” ways of having a great student life in the island. Many teams from the university are formed in order to focus on research, theatre, traditional dancing etc.