The Ionian University was established in 1984, in recognition, by the administration of Andreas Papandreou, of Corfu’s contribution to Education in Greece, as the seat of the first Greek university in modern times the Ionian Academy. The university opened its doors to students in 1985 and today comprises four Schools and seven Departments offering undergraduate and post-graduate degree programmes and summer schools.

Corfu is a Greek island in the Ionian Sea. It is the second largest of the Ionian Islands, and, including its small satellite islands, forms the margin of the northwestern frontier of Greece